PDA

View Full Version : Bruder 8x4 conversion(hopefully)

Sloan
12-31-2010, 08:31 PM
Hello all,
first off I would like to say hello to every one on this forum I'm new to rc equipment and I'm in dyer need of som help to get me started.
Basically I'm looking to convert the bruder merc 8x4 dump truck but don't have a clue what parts I need or where's the best place to purchase them. I'm guessing a motor gear box drive shafts diffs axles and wheels not to mention hyds for tipping mechanism if it is hyds, but how do u know all this stuff fits together not to mention how all this connects with the radio handset.
Sorry for not having a clue but I'd be really gratefull if someone could point me in the right direction.

Also I'm not sure if this post is in the right place so appoligies if it's not

oh and happy new year

regards
Steven

Espeefan
01-02-2011, 12:10 PM
Hi Steven. I think the easiest way to build what you want would be to use as many common, off the shelf parts that you can. Probably Tamiya components because they are readily available, although your truck is 1/16 scale and Tamiya's chassis and drivelines components are 1/14 scale. Still, I think it would work for you. I have seen other 1/16 scale cabs from Bruder mounted to Tamiya semi truck chassis's and it works well. If you are truly looking for a 1/16 scale chassis for the cab and dump box, you'll have to spend a lot more money, as the other option is to use Wedico components, as they are 1/16 scale, but then you might as well just build a Wedico truck.