PDA

View Full Version : Anyone know about lipos

modelman
12-28-2011, 01:01 PM
I guess I have already killed a brand new 7.2V lipo pack. I turned everything off and left it plugged in and it somehow drained the pack to 1.8V. Now it won't take a charge. Is there any way to bring the pack back to life or is it ruined?

Lil Giants
12-28-2011, 02:01 PM
You have two esc's in your 777? One for for/rev & the other dump? Turn off switches on both esc's?

I have a master switch on my JD850, the only model I use lipos on, never a problem leaving the batt plugged in, yesterday being the 1st time in two wks that I used it.

I believe your lipo is toast Tom, anything below 2.7v per cell & they're ruined! Do you have voltage cut-off on one of your esc's?

fhhhstix
12-28-2011, 02:41 PM
Do not leave it plugged in unless you have a master switch separate from the esc's switch and then I still would not leave it plugged in. Some esc's do not truly shut off with the switch they just prevent the esc from having out put but some of the circuitry stays powered up. Castle creations which has some great esc's don't get me wrong but they can be a parasite on a battery with the switch off. Why do I know this I have killed a Li Po my self.

Travis

modelman
12-28-2011, 03:06 PM
Joe-I do not have-2-esc's. A relay controls the dump box and I do have the lipo cutoff enabled on the esc. fishhhstix-thanks for the info-I guess lesson learned on lipos.

hippy
12-28-2011, 08:45 PM
do you have a regular charger? if so, put it on its lowest setting, plug battery in and do a slow charge. watch it! give it a min and try to put back on lipo charger. might take a couple min to do. this is not recommended to do. but be very careful and watch the battery. it should come back.

derailed
12-28-2011, 09:20 PM
i almost lost a lipo
connected to a normal charger for seconds
the charge it pushed was enough to breathe life back into the lipo
as good as new again
careful tho
you can burn your house down this way