PDA

View Full Version : General RC questions from a beginner

Doug
12-31-2011, 05:13 PM
Hello all,
I joined the forum a couple of weeks ago and have been trying to get a feel for RC building. I am new to RC in general and have never built anything RC. I finally have a build in mind and, while I will have many specific questions later, I have some more general questions to ask at this point.

(1) I understand that various components such as motors, servos, hydraulics, etc make the different functions of a vehicycle work such as moving, turning etc. But....how are all of those components "synced" with the radio control? In other words, what has to happen for all the various components to be controlled by a radio? And what power source is common?

I hope this basic question makes sense......

I have a specific build in mind and would like some advice on what components are needed to make the project move, turn, etc.

The project I have in mind is a 1:14 scale Genie S-60x boom lift like the one in the link (http://www.countrytruevalue.com/product/s60-boom-lift-607.cfm) I'm in commercial construction and use similar lifts regularly. My questions are:

(2) What component is needed to make the lift move forward and backward? (It is 4 wheel drive and the 1:1 moves fairly slow)
(3) What component is needed to make the lift steer left and right? (only the rear wheels steer)
(4) What component is needed to make the boom move up and down? (On the 1:1, the boom raises probably 70-75 degrees vertical)
(5) What component is needed to make the boom rotate 360 degrees? (The 1:1 rotates fairly slow)
(6) What component is needed to make two sections of the 3 section boom move in and out (I may have this question already answered thanks to Custom Clod's Aeromax Rotating wrecker build; I was thinking about 1 motor for each of the 2 sections that move in and out)
(7) What radio would be needed to make all these components work? (I guess channels? is what I'm asking)