PDA

View Full Version : Bruder to Tamiya Scale Opinions

FlyingBeagle
02-02-2012, 01:24 PM
I am a complete newby to this hobby, In fact so new, I have not even laid eyes on a real piece of RC equipment. I have spent many many hours scourering this forum as well as others trying to pick up every little bit of info I can and gain a better overall understanding of the hobby. I think I want to start with some Bruder conversions as they seem well within grasp of my skills, tools, and budget. I have been flying RC aircraft for several years now so the model aspects of the hobby are not entirely new to me.

One of my initial concerns is scale how does a 1/16 bruder dozer or excavator compare to 1/14 king hauler or some of your Stahl of Leimbach equipment. Are they close enough that you cant really tell or when you put them together, or does the bruder equipment look like a toy on the back of the truck? How are Bruder conversions accepted at the meets. Are they looked down on like toys, or are they a relativly common sight.

Some of you guys are incredible craftsman, and I would not want to insult someone who has a 1000 hours of labor poured into a model by setting my plastic bruder next to it at a show.

CustomRCmodels
02-02-2012, 01:43 PM
converting Bruder trucks / vehicles is a common thing you find here on the board ...
they fit fairly good in between the Tamiya's and Wedico's .
Or just using Bruder parts , like the cabs , to stick on a Tamiya or Wedico chassis is also a common task .
Everything goes here I would say ....
no reason to be afraid to insult anybody

doodlebug
02-02-2012, 05:37 PM
Welcome aboard!

Gregg
02-02-2012, 10:48 PM
A conversion though is a pretty big first step .you may want to pick up a King hauler or a like kit and built that first.
There is always alot more work in a conversion than a kit but you learn alot much faster starting out with kits, like common hardware to use. Good parts sources and many other things.

siuvinson
02-03-2012, 08:26 AM