PDA

View Full Version : OK I'm hooked

crusher
03-21-2012, 12:30 PM
Hi I am going to attempt a scratch build of a Cat 330b, 1-14 scale, I have researched what I could find and have ordered a parts manual on ebay, my first question is does anyone have a drawing or info for a valve body? Can anyone enlighten me on track drives, do you use motors attached directly to the drive sprockets or do you hide them and drive with a chain link? And finally what do you use for motors, I will be building pretty well everything from steel so will be fairly heavy. Any help would be appreciated as this is my first build.
Thanks
Terry

ps; hope this is in right posting group.

RCLogger
03-21-2012, 02:15 PM
Terry if you checkout my thread starting thread # 16, you can see how I built my CAT 330 log loader. Even my CAT D8 and excavators, alunimum works just fine. If you are planning on running a pump that is 10 bar. 10 bar is enough power for 1/14 scale smaller sized machines. If you use a scale calculator it will give you a good idea on the size of the machine.
I don't build the machines the same as the 1-1, more like ( if it looks right scale )...lol

Liembach builds pumps, spools and cylinders that hold up quit well considering...

greg

crusher
03-21-2012, 02:57 PM
Thanks Greg, I will look at your build, I would like to use alum for its ease of cutting etc. but I don't want the machine to bounce around too much so thought using steel would give weight to look more stable and realistic. What do you use for track drive motors to get enough power and still look good in motion? I've seen some builds where the machine jumps around like a chicken with its head cut off.
Please excuse all the questions but I am really working with only what I read on this forum, which has been great.
Terry

Espeefan
03-21-2012, 11:45 PM