PDA

View Full Version : need some help, advice

dirthalr
12-26-2012, 08:15 AM
I am extremely new to this. I just got a king hauler. Did'nt realize that I would need the steering servo and shifting servo to basically start building the truck. I am confused as to what radio and servos to get. I want to add lights and sound so I plan to get a mfu. Also down the road I'm thinking maybe retractable landing gear, dump trailer, etc. So I want to get the right radio from the get go. Also I'm in a small town no hobby shops so most of it will be internet purchased. I was looking on garden trucking and the 8 channel radio. Would a guy be best to by the heavy duty servo?

Thanks for any input.

I love looking at all the builds on here. Totally amazing

Jimmy

Goose19
12-26-2012, 08:40 AM
hi dirthalr,

welcome to the forum. you picked the perfect place to ask a few questions, this board is full of brilliant people, who will help a guy out.

for servoes, you cant go wrong with hitec 645mgs:

http://www3.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin/wti0001p?&I=LXUZ89&P=ML

and a radio depending on your budget, can be tricky. the mfu with lights and retractible landing gear will all work with a regular 4 channel radio, the mfu actually works as a speed control, so all your tx inputs are seen by the mfu and it directs the input accordingly ( so when you turn left, it turns the wheels AND makes the turn signals come on)

a 4 channel will save you some $$$$ but it puts a dump trailer that dumps (from the tx) out of the question. and if your like me, as soon as you buy a radio, you'll realize you dont have enough channels! i would get at least a 6 channel, it give you room to play around later.

i run spektrum, and im very pleased with them, great quality, programmable , and easy to find at any hobby store. i live a good distance from any stores as well so having things they all stock is a bonus! you could also go with airtronics, futaba, hitec even has 2.4
ghz radios now.

specktrum: