PDA

View Full Version : Caterpillar D353 (D9G) Engine Build

catmack
01-18-2013, 05:06 PM
I will try to start at the beginning for some who have not seen it yet. I may not load everything at once as there are many pics. and probably should start a separate thread??...the full size engine will follow here and then the model, which is a D353, the engine used in the D9 Caterpillar tractor, some industrial applications used this engine and some ran on NG. This casting number came out of the G which had blown a head gasket, liners were sunk too far(hence turning it into a diesel powered air compressor), block was beyond machining for another rebuild so here is it's fate....or not. I am trying to figure out the loading issues. Can someone assist in a way to get pics loaded easily. I am no pro here, there are many pics and would like to do it without taking all night.

catmack
01-19-2013, 03:01 PM
Here are a couple of pics, have more will try to add to it. I am not sure if I should be posting these here or not. Someone please chime in if I should be posting elsewhere. The first pic is a mock up of the gear train in aluminum, next is the gear housing or wheel case as some might call it and the other three are obvious.

catmack
01-19-2013, 03:09 PM
The block and crank.

catmack
01-19-2013, 06:41 PM
This project was started several years ago, do what I can, when I can. I do not expect a speedy completion however, posting here makes me want to get moving along a little faster. LiLGiants will move some posts over with some pics as where I am now.

dabears
01-19-2013, 07:44 PM
Awesome Work so far! I wish I had the equip to do stuff like that

Lil Giants
01-19-2013, 08:02 PM
Forums are indeed a great motivation to help take an idea & turn it into reality.. many resourceful individuals here to help you with your journey to completion. ;)

Azonic
01-20-2013, 12:04 AM
Its so amaing to see pepole like you make scale engines, mad skills! Keep it up!

D8R
01-20-2013, 03:57 AM