PDA

View Full Version : Tamiya mechanical legs - using with radio

mikesinden
04-03-2013, 07:45 AM
Hi, please help, I'm not an idiot ( well maybe ) I've just brought a knight hauler and flat bed, I'm a complete newbie to trucks, but not R/C.
Reading through the legs instructions it claims, to dismount right stick down to lower legs, I understand this, that's the easy bit, but it then says left stick forward to disconnect 5th wheel........... How ?
I thought I'd be setting left stick for gear change and motion, if I do as it claims, pushing left stick forward will simple drive the truck, where, how, does the disconnect come into it ? Should I be setting my 5th wheel servo to another channel to disengage, do I us a 'Y' joint to join both servos or is it simple MAGIC with the 1/14 fairies doing the work.
Please help.
Mammy thanks in advance.
Oh, incidentally, I do have the option of two radios, both futaba, one 4 ch one 6 ch.
mike

mikesinden
04-03-2013, 08:00 AM
Yep, I'm an idiot, just realised, it's left stick forward to drive AFTER right stick forward disconnects 5th gear ......

Stuff
04-03-2013, 12:53 PM
ah isnt this hobby great? you think thats bad, try building one using tamiy's instructions! one wrong screw and you are back tracking to find where you used the wrong one!

mikesinden
04-03-2013, 02:22 PM
Lol, I can imagine, in fact I've searched forums and found one by a chap CUSTOM RC MODELS, that helped 100% which is where I found where I was going wrong, to be honest mine is still boxed, I've built and flown planes and helicopters, sailed tugs and bigger, but this is my first truck. Reason - need something to play with when it's raining, fed up with hobbies that are weather related, least this way I can take the trailer off and still play.....

Izzy
04-04-2013, 06:00 AM
Ah - so you have found info from Willy have you - he is extremly talented and has been around a long time. does some pretty crazy stuff with the radios - especially the older ones and such.