PDA

View Full Version : Hello from Port Alberni

TheMachinist
11-16-2010, 01:34 PM
Hi guys

After taking a trip to meet TracksandtreadLou and RCLogger and getting to run their equipment I've gotten hooked on building "again".

Starting 30 years ago my father began building 1/12 scale logging equipment and as a machinist I got involved making the parts he didn't have the machinery for. I'm working on getting photos of the machines to post.

I've already ordered a Bruder track loader the same as SmallHaul builds and am looking forward to learning as much as I can from the forum and its members.

Jordy AKA: TheMachinist

Vanisle
11-16-2010, 02:23 PM
Welcome to the forum. I am just down island a little way near Mill Bay. I'm betting you have some nice machinery for making stuff. Looking forward to seeing some of your / Dad's completed projects.

Richard

steamer
11-16-2010, 03:23 PM
Hi Jordy. Sunday was great, meeting all the guys from the Port. Looking forward to seeing your dads models, from the pictures they are impressive. You ran Lou's excavator like a pro.
Rob

aseejr
11-16-2010, 06:11 PM
Let's get building! I know easier said than done.

TheMachinist
11-16-2010, 06:49 PM
Just had a vist from my Dad. He brought some photos of his equipment, now I just have to scan them and upload.
The first machine he built was a 075 Madill cable log loader on rubber. It was comissioned to be built by M&B for a retirement gift to the first man to run that type of machine and then train all the other men including my father on how to run them.
That machine is currently not available to be seen ( long story), but my father has indicated that he would like to build another one using more modern components, read:R/C.
I will post updates when we get going on it.

RCLogger
11-16-2010, 07:36 PM
Welcome Jordy, glad you found the site. There is alot of friendly people here with great information...