PDA

View Full Version : questions from a newb

Daveroo
07-13-2014, 02:52 PM
hello all,
im new to the semi rc hobby,even though i create a profile here some time ago,ive not built anything or boughten anything,that time has come,in august i will be making my first purchase,the Tamiya Globe liner,i know i want to upgrade the wheels and tires right off,but i want to know the following,

battery:Venom 6-Cell 7.2V 5000mAh NiMH Stick Universal System,because im assuming the higher number the mAh is,the better?longer driving time?
5th wheel,i had been thinking about tamiya's MFC,but i dont want to use a stick radio,i want to go with a pistol grip,4ch or 6ch if they make one,any help there?..advice?..

ive found a lighting kit on RC4WD that does most if not all and more for lihting than the MFC does,but back to the 5th wheel,will the tamiya trailer leg kit do the same job?..or any other system for auto-uncoupling?

and for the ESC..Outcry Crawler Single Motor Electronic Speed Controller (ESC),Outcry Crawler ESC is created from the ground up. New circuitry, new color case and a much more powerful BEC (Battery Eliminator Circuit).
BEC eliminates the need for a receiver and servo battery pack, it draws higher voltage from the motor batteries and send the power to your receiver and servos.

will the above unit work for a truck?..

im also thinking about upgrading the axles to metal if they are made,any ideas there?..or are the stock tamiya units ok to get started?

i want a basic truck to start for this one,and a trailer,i want to learn the hobby with the basics,but useable systems,and then i plan on building a operating west coast style logging truck with a conventinal cab.

please comment on your thoughts to that mess above..thank you

Dave

Radio Control Trucker
07-13-2014, 06:41 PM