RC Truck and Construction  

Go Back   RC Truck and Construction > RC Truck's Ag and Industrial Equipment and Buildings > Construction Equipment

Construction Equipment If it digs, pushes, hauls dirt "off road" post it here.

Old 02-06-2020, 11:12 AM
Journeyman

jerry56 is on a distinguished road
Default My first Tonka Conversion

Ok I know this isn't a new concept, Small Haul, RVJIMD, Frizzen and a host of others have been doing them for more than 10 years. I'm new to RC and really like the concept and I have used ideas from these builders, So here is my take.
First cost was a major concern, I wanted these to be budget friendly and build-able with basic tools. I don't have a lathe or milling machine or a great deal of skill....I have an old benchtop drillpress, a cheap benchtop bandsaw and a cheap benchtop disk/belt sander..and years in building models and 1/32 slot cars...
I used the parts from WPL some are decent (so far) and some ..not so much....
[IMG]239_0011 by Jerry Mersing, on Flickr[/IMG]
Old 02-06-2020, 11:24 AM
Journeyman

Default Re: My first Tonka Conversion

This first shot is the basic frame of a WPL 4X4 I narrowed the tires to make the duals and modified the front tray to fit the motor.
This is a stock gear reduction motor from WPL....a little on the slow side and not a lot of torque. The frame is the stock WPL these ain't so great...sturdy enough for me to start with but the rails themselves are to narrow....after I figure out the basics I will probably go back and rebuild this one
The axles are the metal upgrade and seem pretty good but really I have no idea how they will hold up, only time will tell.
The linear actuator is a servo city 33rpm gear motor with a 1/4 Black and Decker masonry bit ($2.97) from Walmart I cut it down with a dremel. It will tip a 5lbs weight so it seems to work pretty good the bit moves the slide one inch per revolution so it moves pretty quick.

Last edited by jerry56; 02-06-2020 at 12:31 PM.
Old 02-06-2020, 11:27 AM