RC Truck and Construction  

Go Back   RC Truck and Construction > RC Truck's Ag and Industrial Equipment and Buildings > Construction Equipment

Construction Equipment If it digs, pushes, hauls dirt "off road" post it here.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-21-2015, 03:19 PM
calum_scania's Avatar
calum_scania calum_scania is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 108
calum_scania is on a distinguished road
Default Fumotec 490

So I finally bought one and it arrived last week



Ordered a 6 valve block from Premacon, a quick coupling from Fumotec and his new rotating screen bucket - still to be delivered
I've started to assemble some parts, then I will take it all apart to paint it.





The only thing I'm missing is a battery I would like a lipo but I'm unsure what to buy? The heavier the better as it will be mounted in the counter weight.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-21-2015, 09:23 PM
headers headers is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: ft.worth tx
Posts: 131
headers is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Fumotec 490

Congratulations looking good forward to your build
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-21-2015, 10:58 PM
Rakthi's Avatar
Rakthi Rakthi is offline
Apprentice
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Back in Belgium
Posts: 476
Rakthi is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Fumotec 490

Congrats! You will enjoy assembling it!

The Li-Po I use for mine is 3S 5000mAh. Cont. 40C/Burst: 80C

It's 15.5cm (6 inches) by 4.5cm (1¾ inches) by 2.5 cm (1 inch) and just fits in the counterweight with some room left over for the wires.
__________________
Cheers, Stephan (Rakthi is the one in the avatar)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-21-2015, 11:57 PM
Lil Giants's Avatar
Lil Giants Lil Giants is offline
BANNED
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Saskatchewan
Posts: 4,431
Lil Giants has disabled reputation
Default Re: Fumotec 490

WOW!!! Congratulations Calum, quite an enjoyable model to put together for sure.

I put in a 5 valve block & it seemed to spread nearly the entire width... 6 will be tight!

I also use a 3s 5000mAh lipo from Team Enrich-Power that measures 135mm x 42mm x 28mm

The hyd pump that comes with this model is ridiculously fast & with such small bore cyls, cycle time is very quick! even with the motor rpm at 50%. I set my pressure to 18bar, seems plenty to keep the model planted while digging.

Good luck with the build, hope it goes together easily for you.
__________________
Sharing knowledge is one thing that defies basic arithmetic logic --- the more you share, the more you get!

Joe
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-22-2015, 03:05 PM
calum_scania's Avatar
calum_scania calum_scania is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 108
calum_scania is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Fumotec 490

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lil Giants View Post
WOW!!! Congratulations Calum, quite an enjoyable model to put together for sure.

I put in a 5 valve block & it seemed to spread nearly the entire width... 6 will be tight!

I also use a 3s 5000mAh lipo from Team Enrich-Power that measures 135mm x 42mm x 28mm

The hyd pump that comes with this model is ridiculously fast & with such small bore cyls, cycle time is very quick! even with the motor rpm at 50%. I set my pressure to 18bar, seems plenty to keep the model planted while digging.

Good luck with the build, hope it goes together easily for you.
Yes so far its been excellent to build, everything fits so well and looks well made too!
I asked Frank about a 6th valve and he said it should be fine, hopefully it will work for me..
I remember you saying about your's been a little quick did you ever change anything or do you just use it like that?

I shall have a look at that battery too

Thanks Calum
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-22-2015, 03:07 PM
calum_scania's Avatar
calum_scania calum_scania is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 108
calum_scania is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Fumotec 490

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rakthi View Post
Congrats! You will enjoy assembling it!

The Li-Po I use for mine is 3S 5000mAh. Cont. 40C/Burst: 80C

It's 15.5cm (6 inches) by 4.5cm (1¾ inches) by 2.5 cm (1 inch) and just fits in the counterweight with some room left over for the wires.
So far so good!

Okay, I will have a look at that too. I plan on making a box/mount for it to sit in behind the valves if I have enough room

Regards Calum
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-22-2015, 03:41 PM
calum_scania's Avatar
calum_scania calum_scania is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 108
calum_scania is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Fumotec 490

Slow progress from the weekend but paint has showed up so after a first assemble I will strip it back down and hopefully paint and assemble the undercarriage





Premacon valves



Regards Calum
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-27-2015, 02:31 PM
calum_scania's Avatar
calum_scania calum_scania is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 108
calum_scania is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Fumotec 490

More progress this weekend but sadly not very much! I've assembled my tracks but i had 2 links missing so an email to Frank and he's sending me ones to finish them off



I've primed all the metal parts for the undercarriage and I will hopefully put some colour on them this week



And finally a picture of my valves and pump on the base plate to check what space is available for mounting my electrics



Calum
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-29-2015, 01:45 PM
liftmys10 liftmys10 is offline
Apprentice
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 473
liftmys10 is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Fumotec 490

Nice photos. Thanks for sharing.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-29-2015, 08:14 PM
Rakthi's Avatar
Rakthi Rakthi is offline
Apprentice
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Back in Belgium
Posts: 476
Rakthi is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Fumotec 490

Hi Calum, nice/interesting to see the progress pictures. Looks like the finish of the various pieces has improved too from when I build mine.

That valve block sure looks impressive!

Note - I know the upper rollers are just installed temporarily (pictures posted )9/23), but be aware that the shorter end is supposed to be to the outside. In the pictures you have them alternating. That way your track will not track.

Here a picture of what I mean:

__________________
Cheers, Stephan (Rakthi is the one in the avatar)
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 09-30-2015, 02:49 PM
calum_scania's Avatar
calum_scania calum_scania is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 108
calum_scania is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Fumotec 490

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rakthi View Post
Hi Calum, nice/interesting to see the progress pictures. Looks like the finish of the various pieces has improved too from when I build mine.

That valve block sure looks impressive!

Note - I know the upper rollers are just installed temporarily (pictures posted )9/23), but be aware that the shorter end is supposed to be to the outside. In the pictures you have them alternating. That way your track will not track.

Here a picture of what I mean:

Yes I noticed looking at other peoples pictures their metal parts seemed to have a lot of surface rust on them
The valve block really is an excellent piece! Its a premacon block and weighed over 400g without the the servo's fitted

Good spot, I hadn't noticed that I had to file out the holes to get the bolts to be a looser fit. I will swap them about when I rebuild

Calum
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 11-03-2015, 05:35 PM
calum_scania's Avatar
calum_scania calum_scania is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 108
calum_scania is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Fumotec 490

Undercarriage mostly assembled - I'm having some difficultly programming the ESC for the track drives can anyone help?

Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 11-03-2015, 08:24 PM
Rakthi's Avatar
Rakthi Rakthi is offline
Apprentice
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Back in Belgium
Posts: 476
Rakthi is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Fumotec 490

Hi Calum, what is the exact problem you have? I remember having a hard time myself. One of the ESCs has to run in reverse to the other. I could not get that to work, for some reason the ESC kept reverting to the default program. Ended up reversing the input in the radio.
__________________
Cheers, Stephan (Rakthi is the one in the avatar)
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 11-04-2015, 04:20 PM
calum_scania's Avatar
calum_scania calum_scania is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 108
calum_scania is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Fumotec 490

I can get the track to go forwards and stop but cannot get it to reverse? I assume i'm following the programming correctly but its a little vague..

Calum
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 11-04-2015, 07:11 PM
Rakthi's Avatar
Rakthi Rakthi is offline
Apprentice
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Back in Belgium
Posts: 476
Rakthi is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Fumotec 490

Hi Calum, sounds like you are in Air/Heli mode which doesn't allow reverse. Needs to be in Car/Boat mode. Is kind of explained in the manual how to do it.
__________________
Cheers, Stephan (Rakthi is the one in the avatar)

Last edited by Rakthi; 11-04-2015 at 07:17 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 11-06-2015, 03:31 PM
calum_scania's Avatar
calum_scania calum_scania is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 108
calum_scania is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Fumotec 490

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rakthi View Post
Hi Calum, sounds like you are in Air/Heli mode which doesn't allow reverse. Needs to be in Car/Boat mode. Is kind of explained in the manual how to do it.
Got it sorted now had to read the manual over a few times before it finally made sense. It tracks really well i'm still amazed how heavy the undercarriage is compared to my old stahl machine

Calum
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 11-07-2015, 07:04 AM
Rakthi's Avatar
Rakthi Rakthi is offline
Apprentice
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Back in Belgium
Posts: 476
Rakthi is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Fumotec 490

Yes, that manual needs some reading to make sense of it. Took me a while too to get the tracks working properly.

By the time you have the whole excavator assembled you are looking at a good 20kg. Not the easiest thing to carry around. Already put a couple of nice dings in the doors here.
__________________
Cheers, Stephan (Rakthi is the one in the avatar)
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 04-23-2016, 02:41 PM
calum_scania's Avatar
calum_scania calum_scania is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 108
calum_scania is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Fumotec 490

Due to buying a house and having to move, I've hardly touched the excavator but this last week or so I found some time to continue on with it
I wanted all my electrics to be in one place and be as neat as possibly so I built this



The slew, pump and aux ESC are mounted at the bottom, then the top part has points for positive and negative connections. My receiver will be mounted to the top part as well.

A general look over the machine





I'm still waiting on a battery, trying to find a good quality Lipo which is suitable for my machine hasn't been easy, also buying from Europe seems to impossible due to laws preventing postage. So i'm just waiting on someone getting back to me next week about one which will hopefully do the job

Calum
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 04-23-2016, 03:00 PM
bigford's Avatar
bigford bigford is offline
Big Dawg On The Bone
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: mastic beach,ny
Posts: 2,018
bigford is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Fumotec 490

I have this lipo in my kat Venom 1552 3S 11.1V 7500mAh 30C Lipo
134 x 43 x 44 mm / 5.28 x 1.69 x 1.73 in got it off ebay
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 04-23-2016, 03:09 PM
Lil Giants's Avatar
Lil Giants Lil Giants is offline
BANNED
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Saskatchewan
Posts: 4,431
Lil Giants has disabled reputation
Default Re: Fumotec 490

Venom is a great brand, I use them in 4s in my 850. Everything else runs on 3s & they're all EnrichPower brand. Both 4s & 3s batts are 5000mAh. A lil on the pricy side, but very reliable, not a moments trouble with any of them, charging or using.
__________________
Sharing knowledge is one thing that defies basic arithmetic logic --- the more you share, the more you get!

Joe
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.