PDA

View Full Version : Can drive motor affect steering servo?

sparkycuda
03-19-2013, 06:55 AM
I had my PH350 off-road dump truck driving around the basement for the first time last night. But, whenever the truck is above about 1/3 throttle, the steering servo gets a mind of its own and goes to the left. Sometimes it cycles from center to left and back. Whenever the drive motor is off or at very low speed, steering works perfectly. I have an 85T crawler motor and using Taser 15 ESC. Steering is Hitec HG-645MG servo. Radio is Spektrum DX6i. I mounted the servo parallel to and about 1/4" from the motor body - a very clean setup - but is the EMF from the motor causing the problem with the servo? I'm new to the R/C stuff, so I may have made a basic boo-boo.

Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

Ken

ihbuilder
03-19-2013, 07:12 AM
Ken I had the same prob on the Mack .It was worse when loaded . I installed an external BEC . that solved the issue . I also had the same issue in my 5900 heavy haul tractor with a 75t motor , I also put an external BEC in that too .

Stuff
03-19-2013, 07:44 AM
could possibly be a power drain issue? if you pick up the truck and try going full throttle will it still spaz out?

sparkycuda
03-20-2013, 04:42 AM
I appreciate the help! Pulled red wire from ESC/BEC lead to Rx, then added a battery to run the servos & Rx. Problem FIXED! So now off to the hobbyshop for an external BEC, and I get to leave the steering servo in its original location.

Thanks!

Ken

RCP57
03-20-2013, 05:23 AM
Come on Ken, where is the video?????? I love this build and need an update!

Stuff
03-20-2013, 06:52 AM
glad to hear you got it fixed!

Espeefan
03-20-2013, 08:41 AM
Yes, we need to see some video! Please? :D Or at least some updated pictures in your build thread! I love this build.