PDA

View Full Version : Wedico 3 Speed Transmission Rebuild

Semi Crazy
03-22-2013, 04:32 PM
Hello!

I've been hanging around this forum for quite some time and enjoy reading the posts. I haven't participated much because I don't have a Tamiya truck and don't know much about them. But I can see that most of you do and many take your builds to the highest level of model building.

I have been playing with model RC trucks since I was a young truck driver, started driving right out of high school in '69. I was working for an excavating company hauling dirt and later graduated to hauling heavy equipment. At that time Tamiya trucks and Wedico, for that matter, were just not around. That is when I started collecting scale trucks of all kinds. I was in a truck stop fueling up when I saw the movin' on truck, which I bought, and later two others which are the Shinsei car carriers, one of each of the available frequencies. All of which I still have and they still run. Years later, in 1987, I saw an add for the Wedico line of trucks while traveling for the company I was working for at the time. The add was in a German magazine and was all in German text. I was just flipping through magazines to kill time while waiting for a plane. I took the magazine home and proceeded to call the company in Germany which directed me to a retail outfit in Great Britain which is where I got my first Wedico tractor and trailer. It was a red conventional and the round tank trailer. I didn't like the cat walk on the trailer so I asked a friend to machine it off, it looks as though it was never there. I also slid the tandem axles back on the trailer and moved the king pin to give it a US look. Since then I have collected six Wedico trucks and various trailers. The last two tractors are cobbled together out of spare parts and bodies I found here and there. Many have been rebuilt and updated many times and at this time four are in working order.